When you add or remove items from your account like users and phone numbers during your billing cycle, charges and credits are prorated. In this article, we break down what that means with examples.
The primary way VXT charges for our services are user and phone number subscriptions. You pay for each user and phone number on your account, monthly or annually.
VXT also charges for Usage of certain features including, transcriptions of recorded calls (per minute), inbound calls to toll-free numbers on your account (per minute), outbound international calls (per minute), and SMS (per message). We don't discuss Usage charges in this article.
What happens if you add or remove users or phone numbers partway through your billing cycle?
If you add a user or phone number partway through your billing cycle you are charged immediately for the remaining time between when you add them to your account and your next renewal, and we send an invoice/receipt to your billing email address.
For example, if you add a user or phone number exactly halfway through your billing cycle, instead of the full charge, you will be immediately charged half your typical fee for that user or phone number.
If you remove (delete) a user or phone number partway through your billing cycle a credit will be applied for the remaining unused time between when you remove them and your next renewal.
Importantly, if you cancel your services before your next renewal i.e. you do not receive another renewal invoice from VXT, these credits can not be redeemed as a refund.
For example, if you remove a user or phone number exactly halfway through your billing cycle a credit will be applied to your next renewal of exactly half your typical fee for that user or phone number.